Piedmont Electric

About Piedmont Electric

ECC Technologies has worked as a consultant for PEMC since 2014 when we were hired to conduct a territory telecommunications infrastructure assessment and develop a fiber business plan with financial Pro-forma. PEMC is a not-for-profit rural electrical co-op that is located in a rural area northwest of Raleigh, North Carolina. The PEMC has over 32,000 commercial and residential customers in rural parts of a six-county area.


Electrical Substations Connected

Fast Facts

Over 150 Miles of New Fiber Installed

Three Business Offices Connected

2 of 3 Phases Completed


Piedmont Electric Membership Corporation needed a solution to connect their 21 electrical substations and three business offices. PEMC desired a fiber connection to be able to upgrade their DA, which consists of SCADA, RTU, and TWACS systems.


ECC provided and continues to provide Design, Permitting, and Construction Administration service throughout this multi-phase project that will result in the construction of a total of 230-plus miles of fiber optic cabling in a region-wide fiber system. ECC’s scope consists of all components and services beginning with inception to completion of construction.


Phase 1 was completed in 2017 and consisted of 60 miles of new fiber installation. During this phase, ECC worked with Duke Energy, PEMC, NCDOT, county, village, and town resources as well as rail and environmental authorities and private landowners to secure the most effective pathways. In 2018 Phase 2 was completed and consisted of 55 miles. The last and final phase has been 100% designed and an RFP was let for contractor selection. Phase 3, currently under construction, is estimated at 60+ miles of fiber construction, of which 50 miles will tie back into the Phase 1 segment.

Related Stories

Client success stories where we made a difference.

Southern Tier Network

ECC Technologies has been the lead consultant on the Southern Tier Network, a 550-mile Open Access dark fiber backbone installed throughout the New York counties of Steuben, Chemung, Schuyler, Allegany, Broome, Tompkins, Tioga, and Yates, since its inception.

Learn More